Monkey Side Bars is a twice-a-week drawing game where you are challenged to a piece of art on a specific theme. The game was created just a few weeks ago by several artists who had been posting their art on Instagram.

I noticed that several times a week a number of the pictures on Instagram said Monkeysidebars.  It looked like a fun game and I wanted to find out about it. I asked one of my Facebook artist friends how could I get in on it and she introduced me to the other players and to the game. The game works because the people who participate enjoy the challenge of creating an interesting drawing. They also get pleasure out of seeing everyone else’s work on the reveal day.

Players take turns selecting the theme for each round. Everyone submits their drawing at the same time on Wednesday and Sunday.  An interesting word is selected by different members of the group.  The word needs to be illustrated in no particular style.  Artists can do the drawings in DrawSomething or in any other digital app or by hand using traditional materials. More information about the game, word lists, members, and how to join can be found on the Monkeysidebars Website. The different time zones are listed here. A listing of the Member Monkeys’ Instagram Galleries can be found here. My Instagram Gallery is here.

 

 

