My mother, who died at age 101 often said in her last few years “everything is past…” and I would tell her that there were events and experiences that were yet to happen. I think of that sentiment now whenever I experience anything new in my life. It reminds me to savor each experience as it happens.

I spent the month of July on a vacation to Vancouver, Alaska and Seattle. The Alaskan part was a two week cruise that included several interesting side trips as well as much beautiful scenery that inspired me and became source material for my art. I took photographs with my IPhone but not as many as I wish I had taken. Now I look back and realize that my memory is the only visual evidence I have of the Alaskan experience. The consequence is that I know my drawing will represent a personal evocation of my Alaskan Experience.

Just one iceberg floating by

Just one iceberg floating by

Mendenhal Glacier in Juneau Alaska

Mendenhal Glacier in Juneau Alaska

